Blindly Winning My Heart

If you are following me you probably already know I live and China and am married to my Chinese Love. But I want to tell you about another boy today. 
The Daily Post prompted me to share about a young boy I know and love. I don’t know his age, but I know his face well. He came into my life and heart about four years ago. 

AnAn is a smiley, handsome blind child who I’d guess is around twelve years old. He has no parents, at least none who are a part of his life these days. He’s an orphan, and that’s how we met. 

Before I got married I went to an orphanage twice a month. Like many kids when they first arrive, he was timid – probably more than usually so as he couldn’t use his sight to become familiar with his surroundings. 

Blindly

Write a new post in response to today’s one-word prompt. Not sure how to participate? Here are the steps to get started.

How would you feel? Alone and friendless, blindly trying to place the unexpected and startling sensations all around you? With questions like those in my mind, I made an attempt to become this boy’s first new friend. 

He couldn’t speak and although he could walk he wasn’t confident enough to do so unless held by the hand. So that day I spent a lot of time holding him in my lap or sitting next to him trying to find out what he enjoyed. He didn’t like his face to be touched, but he responded well to back rubs. We’d hold hands and interlock fingers, then he’d wave my hand back and forth in the air happily. Then I encouraged him to give me fives – something he proceeded to do repeatedly (about one a second) with zeal almost every time we met thereafter. 

Soon I feel like I won his trust. He would smile at me with a beautiful set of huge front teeth. His eyes were perpetually closed, but he had the dearest grin regardless. 😀 

As weeks went by I started leading him around the different rooms or on the balcony to help him find his feet. As far as I know he never gained the confidence to walk on his own, but at least after our sessions his steps were less mincing and tremulous. Sometimes he would put his hands on my waist and walk the halls or up and down stairs. A child’s trust is a precious thing. I loved it. 

He was extremely ticklish. Sometimes I’d tease him and tickle his tummy or under his chin. He’d laugh and squeal and smile his heart out. Then, whenever I stopped, he’d shake his head firmly with a grunt and wipe the smile off his face as if daring me to make him laugh again. 

When I and my then-boyfriend-now-husband brushed kids’ teeth together, AnAn would laugh just as soulfully when we inserted the toothbrush as when I tickled him. 

He’s the kind of kid who was tickled by EVERYTHING and it just blows my mind how a boy with no parents, no sight and no home could be bubbling with joy just beneath the surface, ready to burst at any sign of love. 

Please don’t avert your eyes and heart when you see someone who is disabled. AnAn and others taught me that they have some of the greatest ability to make your heart melt in a puddle of love as they drink in your affection and care. 

Remember this age-old song, it answers the question WWJD?:

Jesus loves the little children,

All the children of the world. 

Red and yellow, black and white,

They are previous in His sight. 

Jesus loves the little children of the world. 

4 thoughts on “Blindly Winning My Heart

  1. What a beautiful story. I love it when people take the time to care for others who need it.. This says a lot about your character, and I’m so thankful to God for people like you in this world.

    Like

  2. You’re so kind and caring. I enjoyed your writing. What a pleasure it is when we show love and affection to someone who can’t see actually. You have God’s character in you. Bless you, my friend.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

